Is there a Cure?

I have two children, Miss 12 and Master 6, both of which seem to have caught the Digital addiction virus, whether it be Social Media, youtube, Netflix, Music.ly, music, Ipads, smart phones, Tablets or Xbox, the list could go on for miles.

They seem to need their addiction fulfilled very regularly, and i have observed that when these digital needs are not met, there are some very serious side effects:

  • Eye rolling
  • Whinging
  • Irritability
  • Grunting
  • Moping
  • Boredom

As soon as they can access their digital devices, they seem to fall into an instant trance, almost like a … Zombie.

Blank expressions on their faces, they sit endulging in their need to be connected to their digital device, and instantly, all above side effects have been elleviated.

As I watch them sinking deeper and deeper into their digital worlds, I stop and think to myself, this silence is bliss!!! but I dont think this is normal…

This zombie like manner started me thinking, surely my children arn’t the only ones who have contracted this digital zombie virus? there must be more of their “kind” out there? so I started to pay more attention to their friends actions and behaviour, and it turns out they are the same, every oppertunity that arrises, they acheive their digital fix, is this digital zombie virus contageous?

I have decided i now need to investigate this “situation” that is now unfolding in my house, How has this happened? Is this an epidemic? but most importantly, is there a Cure?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

